Stepperiders revisted

It is seven years ago that I spent a month at Stepperiders in Mongolia, where I had a really fantastic time. I documented my stay in my blog after I had come back home again, because internet access was not possible then. But I wrote a diary every day so that I would not forget all the things that had happened.

Over and over again during the past years I have gotten e-mails from people from around the world, who had found my blog and who wanted to do volunteering work at Stepperiders. I also made a few, not very professional videos, of which my absolute favorite still is Baaska’s song. Thanks so much Baaska for singing for me!

Today I wrote a short testimonial for Stepperiders and maybe they will use it in their new brochure. Writing the testimonial and looking through the many pictures I have, brought back so many nice memories! So I had to write another blog …

And this is my testimonial:

Visiting Mongolia and experiencing the country on horseback had been a dream of mine for very many years. By accident I stumbled upon Stepperiders’ homepage and saw that they provide possibilities to stay with them as a volunteer. I decided that this was my chance to visit Mongolia and to combine horseback riding, teaching English and meeting a new people.

In June 2012 I arrived in Ulan Bator and spend several weeks in Stepperiders’ camp. I helped with the clients, who came for riding tours; took sometimes care of the children; taught English lessons as much as possible; assisted in the kitchen; went for long and fascinating riding tours and really appreciated to be disconnected from the world (internet was not available then). I enjoyed every single day of my stay and am often thinking back to the fantastic time I had. I also fondly remember all the wonderful staff at Stepperiders, with many of them I am still in contact. If I were younger, I would not hesitate to return!

The blog I wrote during my stay in Mongolia (https://barbarawohlfarth.wordpress.com) is still read by many people after all these years and remains a nice documentary of the great time I had.

Thanks so much to Stepperiders for a wonderful experience!

This entry was posted in Mongolia 2012, Thoughts and Tales, Travels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.