Focus on the Thailand monsoon project

In summer each year I tell myself that next year will definitely be less busy, that I will have less commitments and that I definitely need to say much fewer spontaneous ‘YES’. But – by late autumn my calendar is already filled with loads of interesting and fun things to do in the coming year!

So what is all this fun and interesting stuff? January will see me at the Nordic Winter Meeting in Lund, where I will give a talk about how Sweden may have looked like during Oxygen Isotope Stage 3. Next I will be off to Hong Kong and Singapore visiting different universities together with a delegation from Stockholm University and our Vice-Chancellor. This will mean meeting ‘old’ and new colleagues, and given our engagement in SE Asia, I am looking forward to meeting researchers working with similar questions and in similar areas.

February will be very much dedicated to the Thailand monsoon project. Minna Väliranta from Helsinki University will visit to analyze samples for plant remains and to work on a joint manuscript; a group from the Tree Ring Lab at Lamont will also visit for a few days to discuss the Asian monsoon in a paleo-perspective. Later on in February my PhD students and I will visit the 14CHRONO Lab at Queen’s University in Belfast for a few days to see where and how all our radiocarbon samples are being measured. Thanks to an invitation by the School of Geography, Archaeology and Palaeoecology, I will have an opportunity to present the Thailand monsoon project.

For EGU in Vienna in late April/early May we are planning to present talks and posters dealing with our project. We just need to write and submit the abstracts in time! And finally in August, both Sakonvan (Moo) and Akkaneewut (Nut) will defend their PhD theses. This means a lot of work for both of them, and very likely for me too.

This entry was posted in Asian monsoon, Thoughts and Tales and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.